Manaakitanga Perseverance Integrity Responsibility

Our Team

One of our best resources at Tamatea Intermediate is the quality of our Staff.  We have great blend of experience, enthusiasm and energy amongst both our Teaching and Support Staff.

A unique feature is that we have a 50/50 gender split of teachers, which provides positive role models for all our students.

 

Jo Smith

Jo Smith, Principal

Kia Ora,

As a past student of Tamatea Intermediate myself, I am extremely proud to be the  Principal of this innovative and supportive school. I have recently returned to Tamatea Intermediate after spending several years in Australia and it is great to be back in this fantastic, future focussed learning community.

Our motto 'Learning for the future in a supportive environment' reflects the way we guide our learners to achieve their personal best. Tamatea Intermediate has a dedicated team of teachers and support staff that are passionate about providing exciting learning opportunities for our students. 

Feel free to contact me by emailing principal@tamateaint.ac.nz

 

Deputy Principal/ Special Education Needs Co ordinator

Mrs Jude Lineham 

jude.lineham@tamateaint.ac.nz

 

Assistant Principal/ Special Talents and Abilities 

Mrs Jemma Thorogood

jemma.thorogood@tamateaint.ac.nz

 


Year 7 Team

Year 7 Team

Rm 2 - Ms Lisa Hooper lisa.hooper@tamateaint.ac.nz (Team Leader)

Rm 3 - Mr Franz Groom franz.groom@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 4 - Ms Lejani Eksteen lejani.eksteen@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 5 - Mr Hohepa Cooper hohepa.cooper@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 17 - Mr Dean Quate dean.quate@tamateaint.ac.nz


Year 8 Team

Year 8 Team

Rm 13 - Ms Valerie Rimmer-Read (Head of Performing Arts) valerie.rimmerread@tamateaint.ac.nz and Mr Danie Leonard (Year 8 Team Leader and Head of Sport) danie.leonard@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 9 - Ms Meredyth Howie meredyth.howie@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 10 - Mrs Kirsten Morrison kirsten.morrison@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 12 - Mr Jordan Cooper jordan.cooper@tamateaint.ac.nz

Rm 6 - Mr Alan lennox alan.lennox@tamateaint.ac.nz


Innovative Learning Environment Team

Innovative Learning Environment Team

Team Leader - Mrs Jemma Thorogood jemma.thorogood@tamateaint.ac.nz

Year 8 Muriwhenua

Mrs Vanessa Thornicroft vanessa.thornicroft@tamateaint.ac.nz

Mr Quentin Stratford quentin.stratford@tamateaint.ac.nz

 

Year 7 Rongokako

Mrs Sandra Howard sandra.howard@tamateaint.ac.nz

Mr Davy McLean davy.mclean@tamateaint.ac.nz


Technology Team

Technology Team

Multi Materials/ Technology Team Leader - Ms Jude Cheer jude.cheer@tamateaint.ac.nz

Hard Materials - Mr James James jamie.james@tamateaint.ac.nz

Digital Technology/ Head of ICT - Mr Alastair Richards alastair.richards@tamateaint.ac.nz

Visual Arts - Ms Jill Kennett jill.kennett@tamateaint.ac.nz

Performing Arts - Ms Valerie Rimmer Read valerie.rimmerread@tamateaint.ac.nz

Food Technology - Miss Jade Curran jade.curran@tamateaint.ac.nz


Support Staff

Support Staff

School Secretary - Ms Te Kira Lawrence secretary@tamateaint.ac.nz

Finance Officer - Mrs Julie Polly finance@tamateaint.ac.nz

Pastoral Care / Attendance Officer - Ms Vicki Strachan vicki.strachan@tamateaint.ac.nz

Teaching Assistants

Mrs Debbie Melling

Mrs Tracey Hall

Mrs Kurstina Pohe

Ms Lynda Scott

Mr Jayde Hunter Transom

Mrs Tiffany Moore


Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Mr Stephen Brown (Chairperson)

Ms Tania Arnold

Mr Mark Evans

Mr Patrick Everard

Mr Dean Quate (Staff Representative)


Teaching & Learning

Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself. - John Dewey