Open Evening for 2020 has been cancelled due to Alert Level 2 Restrictions

Our Team

One of our best resources at Tamatea Intermediate is the quality of our Staff.  We have great blend of experience, enthusiasm and energy amongst both our Teaching and Support Staff.

A unique feature is that we have a 50/50 gender split of teachers, which provides positive role models for all our students.


Jo Smith

Jo Smith, Principal

Kia Ora,

As a past student of Tamatea Intermediate myself, I am extremely proud to be the  Principal of this innovative and supportive school. I returned to Tamatea Intermediate School  four years ago after spending several years in Australia and it is great to be back in this fantastic, future focussed learning community.

Our motto 'Learning for the future in a supportive environment' reflects the way we guide our learners to achieve their personal best. Tamatea Intermediate has a dedicated team of teachers and support staff that are passionate about providing exciting learning opportunities for our students. 

Feel free to contact me by emailing


Deputy Principal/ Special Education Needs Co ordinator

Mrs Jude Lineham


Assistant Principal/ Special Talents and Abilities 

Mrs Jemma Thorogood


Year 7 Team

Year 7 Team

Rm 2 - Ms Lisa Hooper (Team Leader)

Rm 3 - Mr Franz Groom

Rm 4 - Ms Lejani Eksteen

Rm 5 - Mr Hohepa Cooper

Rm 17 - Mr Dean Quate

Year 8 Team

Year 8 Team

Rm 13 - Ms Valerie Rimmer-Read (Head of Performing Arts) and Mr Danie Leonard (Year 8 Team Leader and Head of Sport)

Rm 9 - Ms Meredyth Howie

Rm 10 - Mrs Kirsten Morrison

Rm 12 - Mr Jordan Cooper

Rm 6 - Mr Alan lennox

Innovative Learning Environment Team

Innovative Learning Environment Team

Team Leader - Mrs Jemma Thorogood

Year 8 Muriwhenua

Mrs Vanessa Thornicroft

Mr Quentin Stratford


Year 7 Rongokako

Mrs Sandra Howard

Mr Davy McLean

Technology Team

Technology Team

Multi Materials/ Technology Team Leader - Ms Jude Cheer

Hard Materials - Mr James James

Digital Technology/ Head of ICT - Mr Alastair Richards

Visual Arts - Ms Jill Kennett

Performing Arts - Ms Valerie Rimmer Read

Food Technology - Miss Jade Curran

Support Staff

Support Staff

School Secretary - Ms Te Kira Lawrence

Finance Officer - Mrs Julie Polly

Pastoral Care / Attendance Officer - Ms Vicki Strachan

Teaching Assistants

Mrs Debbie Melling

Mrs Tracey Hall

Mrs Kurstina Pohe

Ms Lynda Scott

Mr Jayde Hunter Transom

Mrs Tiffany Moore

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Mr Stephen Brown (Chairperson)

Ms Tania Arnold

Mr Mark Evans

Mr Patrick Everard

Mr Dean Quate (Staff Representative)

Teaching & Learning

Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself. - John Dewey